February 04, 2013

David Edwards wins 2012/13 Goldline Scottish Curling Tour

David Edwards, John Penny, Scott MacLeod and Colin Campbell are the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour winners for 2012/13 with 28 points.
Runners up are Murray Young, Blair Fraser, Ruairidh Greenwood, Ian Copland, Grant Hardie and Hammy McMillan with 23 points.
In third place are Frazer Hare, Robbie Dick, Jamie Strawhorn and Don Frame with 21 points.
In a closely fought tour this year Team Edwards started slowly and at the halfway stage were sitting on 3 points courtesy of their quarter final position at Forfar, whilst Murray Young had shot to 15 points with a runners up slot at Braehead, a quarter final position at Forfar and a semi final position at Inverness.
Into the second half of the Tour, we saw Team Edwards record back to back semi finalist positions at Lockerbie and then Stirling to close the gap to 2 points on Murray Young. A win at Kinross moved them to 23 points whilst Team Young recorded 5 points with a semi final position at Kinross to move to 20 points.
Going into Aberdeen, Team Edwards had a three point lead and only had to finish above Team Young to claim the title. A semi final position ensured this was the case with Team Young exiting the competition at the quarter final stage.
Congratulations go to Team Edwards for winning the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour and for supporting the tour both on and off the ice. 

1 comment:

  1. Team Edwards had a lot of fun supporting the Tour off the ice!