February 03, 2014

Petrofac Aberdeen City Open

This weekend saw the conclusion of the 2013/14 Goldline Scottish Curling Tour.
The Petrofac Aberdeen City Open had 24 teams playing two schenkels with the top four in each section making the quarter finals on the Sunday morning.
From Section A we saw David Edwards, Jisun Kim, Jay McWilliam and Hannah Fleming progress and from Section B, Jaap Van Dorp, Michael Opel, Ross McCleary and Kerry Barr.
So it was all to play for on the Sunday with the top three teams on the tour making it through to the latter stages.
Jay McWilliam beat Michael Opel 6-5 taking a 3 down the last for the win. Jaap Van Dorp ran out 7-3 winners over Hannah Fleming. Ross McCleary needing to progress one stage further than David Edwards team to win the overall tour edged out the Korean ladies Jisun Kim 5-2. David Edwards was locked in a tense battle with Kerry Barr and with the score at 5-5 after 8 ends, Kerry went on to take the victory in the extra end, thus ending the Edwards team the chance to defend their GSCT title.
Onto the semi finals where Jay McWilliam defeated Kerry Barr 5-2 and Ross McCleary beat Jaap Van Dorp 6-1. The final was a close affair with the McWilliam team coming out 6-4 winners over Ross McCleary.
Congratulations to Jay McWilliam, Grant Hardie, Hammy McMillan and Billy Morton and their second win on the tour this season.
So a great finish to the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour again and congratulations to Ross McCleary, James, Stark, Craig Gudmundsson and Gavin Baird. They were certainly worthy winners with wins at Forfar and Inverness, runners up at Aberdeen and semi finalists at Kinross and Lockerbie.