February 04, 2013

David Edwards wins 2012/13 Goldline Scottish Curling Tour

David Edwards, John Penny, Scott MacLeod and Colin Campbell are the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour winners for 2012/13 with 28 points.
Runners up are Murray Young, Blair Fraser, Ruairidh Greenwood, Ian Copland, Grant Hardie and Hammy McMillan with 23 points.
In third place are Frazer Hare, Robbie Dick, Jamie Strawhorn and Don Frame with 21 points.
In a closely fought tour this year Team Edwards started slowly and at the halfway stage were sitting on 3 points courtesy of their quarter final position at Forfar, whilst Murray Young had shot to 15 points with a runners up slot at Braehead, a quarter final position at Forfar and a semi final position at Inverness.
Into the second half of the Tour, we saw Team Edwards record back to back semi finalist positions at Lockerbie and then Stirling to close the gap to 2 points on Murray Young. A win at Kinross moved them to 23 points whilst Team Young recorded 5 points with a semi final position at Kinross to move to 20 points.
Going into Aberdeen, Team Edwards had a three point lead and only had to finish above Team Young to claim the title. A semi final position ensured this was the case with Team Young exiting the competition at the quarter final stage.
Congratulations go to Team Edwards for winning the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour and for supporting the tour both on and off the ice. 

February 03, 2013

Team Brewster defend Petrofac Aberdeen City Open

Tom Brewster and his team of Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow and David Murdoch has won the Petrofac Aberdeen City Open for the second year running.

The quarter finals pitched Team Brewster against a Murray Young team looking to secure enough points to win the overall first prize for the SCT. It was Team Brewster however that ran out 6-1 winners and so leaving Team Young to finish a very creditable second on the Tour.

Dave Edwards ran out comfortable winners over Kerry Barr who lost a five in the second end which will always make for an uphill battle against the experienced Edwards foursome.

David Jack's team skipped by Jackie Lockhart finished with three 2's to see off Paul Stevenson's challenge.

The Dutch outfit Jaap Van Dorp won 5-3 over Duncan Spence.

Onto the semi finals and Van Dorp edged out Jackie Lockhart whilst Brewster defeated Edwards.

In a tight final Brewster secured the title with a 4-2 win over Van Dorp.

Perfect timing for Brewster who have won back to back events in the build up to defending their Scottish title which commences on 10th February, so it appears as though they are peaking at the right time.

A successful weekend by all involved at Aberdeen with a great race night on the Saturday night.